Miss Aloli takes African Fashion Week!

 

afwn

African Fashion Week Nigeria is a fashion organisation headed by Ronke Ademiluyi that organises fashion shows to help designers get brand visibility.

This year’s edition was live at the Eko Hotels and Suites on the 1st and 2nd of July and it was amaaaaziiiing!! From the gorgeous designs to the creativity displayed by the designers and the ambience, I can categorically tell you that I had an amazing time.

So the whole event started on friday the 1st of July with a conference.

afwlandafwn-1467363209707[1]

It was supposed to start at 9am but it started a little after 10 and it was very interesting. I learnt a lot about the garment manufacturing industry in Nigeria.

The whole conference ended at about 2.30pm and I left early to get home on time (you know the third mainland bridge traffic could be really depressing).

I also bought my tickets on Friday. Lemme tell you a little about how I got my 3 tickets. The hustle was real mehn!! 😀 I was literally searching Instagram to find out where I could win free tickets. I eventually found and answered a question on naijastartups. >:D

So after the conference, I went to the stand to pick them up,now, prior to this, an amazing friend sent some money to buy the tickets but I saw a flier snapshot on the afwn Instagram page saying if you had the flier, you could get 30% discount on the ticket so I saved the picture off Instagram and showed the lady selling the tickets. She literally told me if I could get the actual flier and not the Instagram shot, she will give me the discount, see me thinking of how to get the flier so I just thought it wise to ask her and you know what; she pointed at a counter with flier on it. I quickly dashed there to pick one up and went to the ATM to get some money.

Summary of this story is that I paid 4200 NAIRA instead of 6000. 😎 I’m smart like that. 😛

The next day was lit. I got to the venue late and I had to go freshen up in the ladies and that as well took a little time but I didn’t miss out a lot.I came in when Silver best models were strutting down the runway doing their final walk. I didn’t actually plan on making a post out of every collection I saw, but I guess the journalist in me came out and I started scribbling out notes on each outfit of every of the designs I saw,so I hope you enjoy.

IMG_20160702_121923_1[1]Miss Aloli ready to take AFWN 🙂

Silver Best

Vivian Bennet

The next was the designer Vivian Bennet. I saw a pretty pink and black dress I liked.In this collection, there were delightful dropped shoulder and off shoulder dresses.

I saw some pretty fabrics I liked particularly the black fabric on the pink dress, it was really beautiful.

Screenshot_2016-07-18-16-45-55[1]

IMG_20160702_150009[2]

Afrik Abaya

The next showcase was Afrik Abaya. I have met her before in a fashion business class where she spoke about her brand and her passion.I noticed she infused into this collection a lot of English designs a bit different from the Abayas and kaftans she is used to…she had a minimalist approach to this collection. Her pieces included long dresses,jumpsuits,Ankara trousers etc.

I saw an exaggerated shoulder blouse with a sleek Ankara trouser. I also noticed a few gowns and Abayas. Her colors were black, white and a little red with appliques on the fabrics..she also introduced beads and she embraced hearties..

Apex Clothing

Apex clothing was next with a light skinned nappy haired male model stepping out in a pink and mint green suit looking dapper.There were a couple of suits and a female model wearing a really dapper black and white jacket. It was altogether a good showcase. I loved the ambience and look of the hall..

Screenshot_2016-07-18-17-00-45[1]

Daviva collection by the Next  Nigerian Top Model 2016 competition

The Nigerian next top model collection piece by Daviva was all shades of blue, white, red colors bursting out the individual designers’ creativity..I loved the cut out green dress with basket weaves at the bottom, I also loved the woven bun hairstyle worn by the models .

I noticed a cut out dress I totally adored and also an asymmetrical peplum playsuit. They had really lovely Ankara fabrics from Daviva.I really liked the green dress and the way the organza stuck out. It was elegant and beautiful. There were lots of stick outs(parts of the dress that stuck out; sleeves, collars, lapels etc). A particular long dress had its roll collar sticking out initially but when the models all came out for their final walk, it came down.

The red crop top and fitted long lace skirt with the attached peplum and the headgear was spectacular..I loved the fact that they included Ankara bags and shoes . The individual designer contestants walked out with their pieces on their models..it was really lovely.

Interlude/Break

Next up was a performance.. I liked the way the singer just came out singing like we were expecting him.It was all cool..I like the whole show only that they started late. The models were well made up. Zubby handled the makeup.

Screenshot_2016-07-18-17-01-19[1].png

Login house of fashion

The second show started at 5pm with login House of fashion. They had a few pieces for children.I love the use of blue print with white shirts. There was a pink blouse a child model had  with turned up shorts.I really liked the casual outfits, they looked super comfy looking walking in their  slippers and shoes.

Screenshot_2016-07-18-16-57-58[1]

The adults came out wearing nice flared dresses and flared sleeved dresses. I saw a lot of lace, net, chiffon and Lycra..I loved the flared  blue A line dress with applique lined across. The girls had pretty headpieces and the young boys had nice print + jeans stoned head caps. I loved the collection overall.

Faridas Atelier

The first thing I noticed were the lovely shoes the models by faridas atelier. The fabrics she used were plain teal blue , coral and printed Ankara fabrics.. Her long dress with inseam pockets was all shades lovely..I loved the all round wrap coral dress.The printed fabric was plain and had print at the selvedge area.The first pleated skirt was lovely.

The pieces were simple consisting of bishop sleeves, pleated dresses,asymmetrical hemlines.. I loved the wrap theme that was present in this collection. Altogether this was a lovely collection.

Eve Design Online

Next up was Eve design online and noticeable in her fabric choice was lace, coral blue Lycra and coral pink lycra. I liked the net mesh lace and net combo on the long dresses..it was nice. I noticed the jeans with printed square cutouts at the back of the jackets of the model. One striking look was a jeans jacket with the square cut print on the sleeve and  clear vinyl fabric used in the yoke and top crown of the sleeve. This collection consists basically of long dresses with net, Lycra fabrics, shorts, jeans jackets, two bralets.

Verdict – Fairly nice pieces.

Neopele collections

A unisex brand with jackets and a pop of print and color. I liked the brown jacket with mustard waist coat. There was a shimmery cream jacket the audience liked but I was quite indifferent..I liked the brocade jackets. I just realised there are two brown jackets with nice printed ties and square pockets.  The shimmery jacket had black duchess lapels and buttons..

Screenshot_2016-07-18-17-09-31[1]

Victoria Grace

Victoria grace collection had belted shirt dresses with the collars and turn up cuffs made of  printed fabrics from the dress body,so the shirt dresses were Ankara fabrics, while the buttoned collars and turn up cuffs were stripes or polka dotted fabrics.I noticed some lace fabrics.

I loved the shift dresses especially the last dress with a balloon silhouette with inseam pockets.. I loved the blue embroidery on it too.

It takes a lot of courage to present a collection in a fashion show.Styling is also an important part of a design .There was a certain long coat/ overall I saw with net attached to the back like a cape I thought was unnecessary..

Yima Kurfi

I saw a lot of nice Ankara, appliqué ,capes in the yima kurfi. The designer is a young lady who stepped out in a black long dress with a nice jacket and black leggings.

Tiannah Styling School

Next up is tiannah styling school collection.. I love the plunging neckline jumpsuit with thinly pleated band. This collection is  a mixture of menswear and womenswear using daviva Ankara fabrics, net and lace. The menswear had dry and normal pieces consisting of plain black or white shirts and trousers with Ankara attached to the side and vice versa.

There were cutout pieces like a spaghetti pencil dress with a plunging neckline in front and an  asymmetrical peplum added at the leg side. I loved the low back dress with basket net layering as the upper bodice and the lower skirt.

I love the flared sleeves on one of the designer’s outfit as she walked out with her models.

Styling is a serious issue as some ensembles would have come out nicer if they had great styling aid.

Tiannah came out with her students clad in a really nice cutout jeans cape.

Screenshot_2016-07-18-18-56-44[1]

Elawe

Elawe was amazeballs with lovely jumpsuits, from the yellow roll collar and asymmetric back line jumpsuit to the red sequin gown with pleated hangouts.. I love the cape on the dress and also the collar. The peplum red blouse with fitted trouser was really lovely

I noticed an asymmetric hemline tilting downwards at the back of one of the trousers. I liked the design on this gown. The Elawe designer came out in a yellow peplum blouse and white trousers with zebra striped shoes.. Nice.

Niposkin!!!

Niposkin by Daviva Ghana was all shades of fierceness.. I loved the first piece with the short with lace buttons. The pink gown was really nice and the black lace with neon Ankara was lit. I love the collar combination.  So well coordinated. A lot of cross back straps with beads or Ankara worn with nice capes were present in this collection.

I loved the infusion of feathers as accessories used on the hand and around the neck.

Dozzy couture

Ankara , jeans and ankara head caps…They had really nicely sewn trousers with elastic band.

Tasha gillies.

Nice flowy dresses, I loved the wide trouser suit and also the low back jumpsuit.

Niki Kay

Niki Kay had the models dressed in fitted gowns with briefcases. I liked a collar in a particular dress. Really, I also loved this off shoulder print dress right below.

I also loved the fact that you could read what people were saying on social media on the projector.Enplug was in charge of displaying live tweets and instagram posts. The dress had a side zip that ended in a slit by the side.

O’saunders

Osaunders had its first dress with folded petals appliqué on its bodice. The models had large but pretty white fascinators with different colors of roses in it.  Really colorful collection with flared blouses, a really nice long jacket and cutout dresses with large lapels. I saw a nice turtleneck top with bishop sleeves and their trademark fascinator.

The fitted dresses had small roses attached to it.

A particular ensemble that had a crop top with really nice details at the back was covered by a long  white organza jacket/ overall.I felt the organza jacket should have been ditched as the crop top had great features that could have been seen.

I loved the last dress .The flared white and yellow dress were very nice..I liked the hi low by the side of the dress and the big golden buttons at the back.

The flared yellow dress was a hit..so someone posted on the gram saying she loved the hand painted designs from and I was shocked because I also thought the fabrics were hand painted too.

I think I like the fact you don’t get to see the anchor, It gives a well coordinated vibe to the audience. I sat next to speakers and it wasn’t too loud, the sound was loud enough for me to hear but not uncomfortably loud .

The next performer played really nice jazzy  tunes with his electric guitar and after his performance, his show ended.

Screenshot_2016-07-18-17-10-03[1]

The third show started with Niffe around 8pm.

Niffe

High neck cowl blouses, slightly draped skirt. Really nice pieces from Niffe.. .

Large polka dotted hi- low dresses.

The skirts had long bronze zippers in front..

I liked the wine beads and simple gold loops. I loved the blue dress with ruffles at the hem and neckline.

Asakeoge

Lycra + ankara..

A casual and sporty collection with a lot of crop tops and trousers with net by the side. A bomber jacket + short wrap skirt with organza hemlines and a cap speaks tennis outfit. A not too bad collection.

J Reason.

Menswear Brand.

I love the dark purple trousers with side ankle slits. All the models wore dark shades.

Screenshot_2016-07-18-16-19-56[1]

There was a really nice long white robe with nice skinny jeans

I love the accessories on the models and the shoes too. This is a different look with really striking and edgy new concepts. J Reason is bringing style to the table for the metrosexual men.

Somandra Stitches

For this collection, I would just post pictures. It was a splendid collection. I love the fact that the lining color was a contrast to the fabric color. This was a particular dress that the designer had cut out of different fabrics as the lining. It was so beautifully and tastefully done.

Beryl Qouture by Anita Beryl

Beryl Qoture was amazinnng . She featured lace golden hemline with hi- lows (asymmetrical hemlines) and flared white dresses.

This collection is a white and golden net affair sprinkled in gold sequin..I loved the white and gold shiny net fabric she used. The white jumpsuit with clear gold sequined net waist band did it for me.

I loved the godet inset on the 6 gored gown with gold  sequin net, the dresses with bra cups looked really regal. I don’t think I have seen a dress with obvious bra cutouts as beautiful as the dresses in this collection. It was well applied and it rhymed beautifully with the rest of the dresses.

This hi low gown with pleats is an amazing dress.I like the shift dress and the bustier gown

This is one of my favourite collections.

 Okay Ladies, Now lets get in formation! 😛

Morin .O

She featured her knapsacks and silver satchels.. I noticed a tote like knapsack I thought was really creative. The luguages and the red totes look really sturdy.. I liked the brown hand bag and the fringe bag, the bags are nice and the leather looks sturdy and durable.

This collection says there are different bags in different colors  for  different occasions for everyone.The purple bags on the two models that walked out with the designer was everything.. I really liked her designs.

Nugo’s clothing

I liked the mini skirt with small zips at the hemline. The clothes were all well sewn.

House of Borah

I loved the black and white ruffled skirt…beautiful dresses.I love the clear cuts on the fabrics.The necklines are amazing..

Coz designs

I guess its the bags they were modelling.. The suits were really nice. Nice bags, nice concept.

Jpkouture by Hadassah

This collection had plus size models wearing sequined gowns with slits. I noticed a kimono dress. I didn’t really like this collection as I felt the designs were quite basic and a little hyped. They had an interesting drama staged on the runway. The DJ played Rihanna song – BBHMM and there was a veiled queen in a silver sequin dress sitting on what was to be her throne, with two people standing by her side. The song played on as the models strutted down the runway dropping money into the basket beside the “queen”. This collection didn’t give me anything to think about as the designs were basic.

Bankole Thomas

I loved the whole designs.My fav is the black and white striped jacket the female model wore. I love the olive jacket..I noticed the sleeves of the jacket were quite short, but this collection had nice designs in it.

Zara and Zoe

A showcase of leather bags and luggages of different colors.

Colors of CUE

Had hand painted white silk and red fabrics.

Eminence 1129

Nice flared dresses.

Had traditional attires for the men . I love the staff the men held..

TIR fashion house

This was the last design house to showcase their collections..I loved the red and black combos. This designer used cutouts of the symbols on the Ankara as an applique on the dresses and I loved the concept.

Conclusion

Altogether, Day two of the African Fashion Week Nigeria was a success. The organiser and convener Ronke Ademiluyi did an amazing job here and I would definitely come and by God’s grace  to debut my collection next year.Amen!

Leave a comment